November - 2020
02 03 04 05 06 07 08
09 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29

Visa, residence permit and address card information

Information on visa and residence permit regulations as well as the list of countries, the citizens of which may enter Hungary without having a visa is to be found on the website of the Hungarian Ministry of Foreign Affairs at, as well as on the website of the Hungarian Embassy of the home country. Here you can find the most up-to-date list of diplomatic and consular representations in Hungary.

Upon receipt of the Letter of Acceptance from the Corvinus University of Budapest, students from non-EEA countries (non-EEA nationals) must hand in their demand on residence permit for the purpose of studies at the Hungarian Embassy in their home country. (We very much recommend that all non-EEA citizens - even those who are eligible to enter Hungary without a visa for up to 90 days - apply for a visa for residence permit BEFORE coming to Hungary.) In case of successful application, the students obtain a visa – for the purpose of studies – authorizing them to a single entry for receiving the residence permit and to stay for maximum 30 days in Hungary. The decision on the residence permit falls within the scope of the regional directorates of the Office of Immigration and Nationality.

The students must visit the Office of Immigration and Nationality and obtain their residence permit within 30 days from the day of entry. All non-EEA nationals must, at all times during their stay and studies here, have a valid residence permit allowing them to study in Hungary.

Those international students who are staying at Corvinus for a longer period of time – for more than one semester – are obliged to have the residence permit renewed before it expires. Please note that renewal of the residence permit must be started at least 30 days before it expires. 

Students from EEA countries (EEA nationals) must obtain their certificate of registration at the regional directorate competent for the place of residence within 3 months from the day of entry.

The EEA (European Economic Area) countries:Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Ciprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece , Hungary, Iceland, Republic of Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, The Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, UK. Also Switzerland (while Switzerland is not in the EEA, Swiss nationals have the same rights as EEA nationals)

Application forms for Hungarian residence permit are to be downloaded on the website of the Hungarian Immigration Office at

Students are recommended to contact the relevant authorities (and consult the websites) at least 2 months before the start of the study period.

All international students are also responsible for registering their housing address at the regional directorate competent for the place of residence. Each student will receive an “address ID card” which is obligatory for all people residing in Hungary. In general, all international students have to notify the authorities about their place of residence soon after arrival and within 3 days after any changes taking place.

Last modified: 2011.07.27.

Albania    Belarus    Greece

Iran    Mexico    Moldova

Russia    Ukrain    United States

Poland    China    Germany