November - 2019
  01 02 03
04 05 06 07 08 09 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30  


Institutional milestones


The School for Practical Gardening (1853-1860) was the first institution of horticultural professional training in Hungary. The school was founded and managed by the well-known horticultural scholar and publicist Dr Ferenc Entz (1805-1877), who was also a corresponding member of the Hungarian Academy of Sciences (HAS).


Royal School of Horticulture. The School became a real higher education institution in 1894 as the Royal School of Horticulture.


The modern economist training began in 1948, when the Hungarian University of Economics was established as a separate universitas.


A defining personality of this era was Imre Nagy (1876-1958) lecturer of the university, martyred prime minister of Hungary, ember of the HAS and lecturer of agricultural politics (1948-55, 1956).


Kálmán Szabó (1921-2007), rector, professor, member of the HAS, who not only was one of the developers of Hungarian economic reforms.

University of Horticulture was established in 1968.


As a result of an integration process going on during these years, the Budapest University of Economic Sciences and the College of Public Administration merged in 2000. The faculties of the former University of Horticulture and Food Industry, the traditions of which go back one and a half centuries, joined the institution in September 2003.


By virtue of the resolution adopted by the Hungarian Parliament, the University took on the name "Corvinus University of Budapest" as of September 1 of this year.


60th Anniversary of KÖZGÁZ. The name "KÖZGÁZ" is an abbreviation the people have always used no matter what the official name of the University was. Over these 60 years KÖZGÁZ has always focused on the same disciplines in the same building in an unchanging academic atmosphere.


By virtue of the resolution adopted by the Hungarian Parliament, the Faculty of Public Administration became the part of the newly established National University of Public Administration.


According to the decision of the Ministry of Human Capacities, three faculties of the Buda Campus: the Faculty of Horticulture, the Faculty of Food Science and the Faculty of Landscape Architecture and Urbanism joined the Szent István University, Gödöllő on 1st January 2016.

Corvinus University of Budapest operates with 3 faculties from this year.

Last modified: 2018.11.30.